COVID-19

COVID-19 is primarily a lung disease caused by the SARS-CoV2 virus. However, the effect on the whole person must be considered regularly. Thus, there is often involvement of the vascular system, heart, kidneys and other organs. In the majority of patients, the course of the disease is mild and no special follow-up care is required. However, some patients become severely ill and require hospitalization and possibly even intensive medical care if pneumonia is present. After a severe course of the disease, many patients have persistent symptoms. In addition, after the initial improvement, some patients may develop complications due to scarring of the lungs or impaired blood flow to the lungs. The goal of structured follow-up care is to identify and treat the cause of persistent complaints. Of utmost importance here is the prevention of permanent damage.

COVID-19, SARS-CoV2 Pneumonie

Structured COVID-19 follow-up

Approximately 4 weeks after completion of acute treatment, an initial internal medicine pulmonary examination should be performed. This involves taking stock of the symptoms that persist. Often at this point, there is still coughing, shortness of breath, and possibly still a need for oxygen. In addition, mental disorders, weight loss, muscle wasting and general weakness must be considered. New symptoms must also be recognized here. Particularly noteworthy are thromboses and embolisms as well as problems of the heart.

Approximately 12 weeks after the completion of acute treatment, the first comprehensive examination is performed. After reassessment of the course of treatment, radiological follow-up of the radiographic findings should now also be performed. Pulmonary function testing is used to assess the airways, lung volumes, and the ability of the lungs to absorb oxygen. Assessment of the heart and pulmonary circulation is performed with ECG and cardiac ultrasound. In case of pathological findings, further clarification is required. Depending on the problem, this may require high-resolution computed tomography of the lungs, computed tomographic vascular examination of the lungs, or other examinations.

If there are no symptoms and no pathological findings 12 weeks after the end of acute treatment, it can be assumed that the disease has been completely cured.

COVID-19

COVID-19 ist in erster Linie eine Lungenerkrankung, welche durch das SARS-CoV2 Virus ausgelöst wird. Jedoch ist regelmäßig die Auswirkung auf den gesamten Menschen zu berücksichtigen. So kommt es oft zu einer Beteiligung des Gefäßsystems, des Herzens, der Nieren und weiterer Organe.  Bei der Mehrzahl der Erkrankten verläuft die Erkrankung milde und es  bedarf keiner speziellen Nachsorge. Einige Patienten erkranken jedoch  schwer und benötigen bei Vorliegen einer Lungenentzündung eine Behandlung im Krankenhaus und eventuell sogar eine intensivmedizinische Behandlung. Nach einem schweren Verlauf der Erkrankung bestehen bei vielen Patienten anhaltende Beschwerden. Zudem können sich bei einigen Patienten nach der anfänglichen Besserung, Komplikationen durch eine Vernarbung der Lunge oder durch eine Durchblutungsstörung der Lunge einstellen. Ziel der strukturierten Nachsorge ist es, die Ursache für anhaltende Beschwerden zu erkennen und zu behandeln. Von größter Bedeutung ist hierbei das Verhindern von dauerhaften Schäden.

COVID-19, SARS-CoV2 Pneumonie

Strukturierte COVID-19 Nachsorge

Etwa 4 bis 6 Wochen nach dem Abschluss der Akutbehandlung sollte eine erste Internistisch-Lungenfachärztliche Untersuchung erfolgen. Hierbei geht es um eine Bestandsaufnahme der fortbestehenden Symptome. Oft besteht zu diesem Zeitpunkt weiterhin Husten, Kurzatmigkeit und eventuell noch immer Sauerstoffbedarf. Zudem müssen psychische Störungen,  Gewichtsverlust, Muskelschwund und allgemeine Schwäche berücksichtigt werden. Auch neue Symptome müssen hier erkannt werden. Hervorzuheben sind hierbei insbesondere Thrombosen und Embolien sowie Probleme des Herzens.

Etwa 12 Wochen nach dem Abschluss der Akutbehandlung erfolgt die erste umfassende Untersuchung. Nach der erneuten Beurteilung des Behandlungsverlaufes sollte nun auch eine Radiologische Verlaufskontrolle  des Röntgenbefundes erfolgen. Mittels Lungenfunktionsuntersuchung erfolgt  die Beurteilung der Atemwege, der Lungenvolumina und der  Fähigkeit der Lunge, Sauerstoff aufzunehmen. Die Beurteilung des Herzens  und der Lungendurchblutung erfolgt mit EKG und Herzultraschall. Bei  krankhaften Befunden ist eine weitere Abklärung erforderlich. Je nach  Fragestellung kann hierzu eine hochauflösende Computertomographie der  Lunge, eine computertomographische Gefäßuntersuchung der Lunge oder  weitere Untersuchungen erforderlich werden.

Wenn 12 Wochen nach der  Beendigung der Akutbehandlung keine krankhaften Befunde bestehen, ist davon auszugehen, dass die Erkrankung vollständig ausgeheilt ist.